The Intouchables

I just saw The Intouchables yesterday and absolutely LOVED it. I’m not usually one to sit through movies with subtitles, but I did not want this movie to end. It’s based on a true story of a friendship between a quadriplegic millionaire (Francois Cluzet) and his street smart ex-con caretaker (Omar Sy aka Driss). Driss and Francois meet when Omar is applying for a job as Francois’s caretaker, just so he can get credit for unemployment. Francois is attracted to his honesty and lack of pity and offers him the job.

Some might liken it to “Driving Miss Daisy” but I found it to be much more fulfilling. I know there are so many movies out there about “unlikely friendships”, but I was so drawn to this story. I loved their relationship. Whereas many might find the storyline depressing, I found it uplifting and a wonderful balance between pulling at my heartstrings and making me laugh out loud. Driss is so refreshingly blunt, and it’s obvious that is what Francois needs.

One of my favorite scenes was when Driss went to an opera for the first time…dressed in jeans to boot. His reaction was priceless and his laughter infectious.

I don’t feel that the movie perpetuated stereotypes as many others have written. I found the differences between their personalities to be the backbone of the movie. They each fulfilled something that was missing in their counterpart. They built each other up and didn’t take advantage of weaknesses. It was a genuine friendship.

I highly recommend this movie! I can’t wait to see it again.

2 thoughts on “The Intouchables

  1. Please give me more details as to how exactly this works and if there are any costs involved. Please don’t have anyone call me, just send me an email reply. Thank you. Sarah.

Please give us your feedback

