Harry Potter

Complete set of the seven books of the Harry P...

 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

So my son’s second grade teacher encouraged us to have him read beyond his level…to challenge him. So from Miss Daisy Is Crazy! we are jumping right into the Harry Potter series. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone  by J.K. Rowling will be his first book without pictures. Now my son absolutely loves to read…he has even gotten in trouble at school lately for reading when he is supposed to be doing other things…but I’m curious to see if this will hold his attention. His eyes got very wide when he saw how many pages were in the book. He seemed more excited about the fact that the binding was so big that it fit the whole title. Even though this series hasn’t interested me in the past, I am very tempted to read it along with him. That way we can talk about the chapters and I can see if he is truly absorbing the information. Who knows, I might get sucked in like the rest of the Harry Potter lovers!!

Has your child read Harry Potter yet? If so, how old was he/she when they read it? Did it hold their attention? Is second grade too young to start this series? I guess I’ll find out soon 😉

2 thoughts on “Harry Potter

  1. Wow! That is a big jump. How about Boxcar Children, Magic Treehouse, Henry Huggins? Word-wise he might get it, but content-wise it will be pretty intense (especially after the first few in the series). My son’s a second grader and is loving Indian in the Cupboard. He also loved Castle in the Attic. I think those are more a second grader’s speed. However, there are second graders who read and love HP. Speaking from a teacher’s point of view, I would wait. If you do go forward, yes, read with him.

    • Thank you so much for your advice. I think he lost his interest when he saw how big the book was. He was skimming through it today though. I just finished the book I’ve been reading. I think I’ll read the first chapter and see if I can’t pique his interest. The Indian in the Cupboard is a great suggestion. I remember reading that as a child. Thank you!!

      Sent from my iPhone

Please give us your feedback

