Quote by Donalyn Miller

“Reading changes your life. Reading unlocks worlds unknown or forgotten, taking travelers around the world and through time. Reading helps you escape the confines of school and pursue your own education. Through characters – the saints and the sinners, real or imagined – reading shows you how to be a better human being.”  – Donalyn Miller, The Book Whisperer: Awakening the Inner Reader in Every Child.

I truly feel that reading makes me a better person. It helps me to see perspective of others, and shows me when mine is flawed. It forces me to stop and think about opinions other than my own. It opens my eyes beyond a picture that I had already painted in my head.

I travel back in time as well as to places I will probably never see in my lifetime. Whether I’m reading about history or fantasy, I am learning. Learing about life, learning about myself.

I hope that my children enjoy reading as much as I do. While they learn so much in school, reading takes it to a whole new level. I get such joy when I see my son engrossed in a book. He used to let me read to him all the time when he was little. My youngest doesn’t share that same ritual; he wants to look at the book himself. So, I try to sneak in a little reading over his shoulder and name the pictures when he’ll let me…it’s exposure and I’ll keep at it.

Whereas I also love movie date night with my husband and would never turn down the experience of traveling to the places I read about, reading is an old friend. A friend who has no problem telling me when I have a thing or two to learn.

Quote found at www.goodreads.com

Please give us your feedback

