E-readers vs. Books

Isn’t it odd how much fatter a book gets when you’ve read it several times?” Mo had said…”As if something were left between the pages every time you read it.  Feelings, thoughts, sounds, smells…and then, when you look at the book again many years later, you find yourself there, too, a slightly younger self, slightly different, as if the book had preserved you like a pressed flower…both strange and familiar.”  – Cornelia Funke, Inkspel

So I read this quote and I wonder if I’ll get that same feeling when I read or reread a book on a Kindle. There is something about reading a book that has been passed down from friend to friend, or that has been borrowed numerous times by someone before you, that makes it feel somewhat special. It’s like they are sharing something with you.

When I first heard about the Kindle (and other e-readers), I was very skeptical. I have always loved to read and didn’t think that I would be able to give up the feeling of the book in my hands. The dog-eared corners where someone nodded off to sleep or the worn binding from many owners; they show years of a story told over and over again.

Well, like many others I fell in love with my Kindle. I love being able to throw my Kindle in my purse; grabbing it during my lunch break or when I’m in the doctor’s office waiting room. It became especially handy when I was sneaking in the Fifty Shades series and I didn’t want anyone to know what I was reading ;-).  I got used to the “click” of a page turn and I have become very dependent on the dictionary feature. I don’t feel that the technology takes away from the story; it adds to it.

I’ve recently upgraded to a Kindle Fire…correction, I have stolen it from my son who received it as a birthday present. He had an E-ink Kindle that he received for a birthday present last year, but I must say it doesn’t seem to have the same appeal for (young) kids. They need color and animation. Hence my suggestion for the Kindle Fire when his grandmother was asking for birthday present ideas. I’ve since found that he thinks Angry Birds is the most appealing feature of the Kindle and still would rather read a book. This works for me as I’m not sure I would give it up at this point anyway ;-). “Mommy, isn’t that my Kindle”?…”Yes, but I’m reading a really good book”. I’m not sure that answer is going to change anytime soon ;-).

How do you feel about e-readers? Have you made the switch? Would you ever switch back?

Book collection

Book collection (Photo credit: Ian Wilson)

English: Photographic composition of Granmata ...

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

One thought on “E-readers vs. Books

  1. Pingback: More thoughts on the Kindle « cartesian product

Please give us your feedback

